If you are seeking a Maine expungement please review the expungement overview below.
Requirement(s) to qualify for an expungement in the state:
In Maine , records of juveniles may be sealed, as opposed to being expunged
A person adjudicated to have committed a juvenile crime if
- at least 3 years have passed since the person's discharge from the disposition for that juvenile crime,
- since the date of disposition, the person has not been judged to have committed a juvenile crime and has not been convicted of committing a crime; and
- there are no current adjudicatory proceedings pending for a juvenile or other crime.
The court may grant the petition if it finds that the requirements of above are satisfied, unless it finds that the general public's right to information substantially outweighs the juvenile's interest in privacy.
Has it been 5 years from sentencing and have fully completed the sentence, including probation and payment of all fines?
Does the law provide for sealing? What are the requirements?
All records pertaining to the juvenile crime and its disposition, and to any prior juvenile records and their dispositions.
A juvenile may petition the court having jurisdiction over the records for an order to seal those records
What does it mean if you have a record expunged or sealed?
The process of legally destroying, obliterating or striking out records or information in files, computers and other depositories relating to criminal charges is an expungement.
When the records are “sealed,” the individual may generally answer that s/he has never been convicted.
No. In Maine , records of juveniles may be sealed, as opposed to being expunged. The records cannot be accessed for general civil use. For a description of the crimes that cannot be expunged, click here .